Happy Mother’s Day Mom (and Grandma)

For all the moms and grand-moms following us here at GTO, we’d like to wish you a very happy and blessed Mother’s Day. We hope that your day will be filled with the abundance of God’s love and special times with your family.

Mother’s Day is always such a bittersweet time for me (Renee), as my mother passed away in 2004 at the young age of 63. I am certain she is now spending her days walking streets of gold, living in one of God’s special mansions reserved for soulwinners, attending praise and worship concerts around the clock, and hanging out with Bible heroes in her glorified, sickness-free body. Because of this I simply cannot be too sad for her; in fact, you could say I’m a little jealous.

But, of course, I miss her greatly, and perhaps most often when I think about my own kids. My oldest, who is now a junior in high school, will soon be graduating, and God-willing, attending the Air Force Academy soon thereafter. My mom will not be there to congratulate him on all his hard work or give him sage grandmotherly advice for his future.

My 12-year-old daughter is growing up to become just like my mother in so many ways, the least of which is their shared love of God’s Word, all things purple, and dancing. How I wish they could get to know each other better and realize all they have in common. And, my youngest, who was only 2 months old when I flew him to Ohio to attend my mother’s funeral, is now 8. They were in the church together that day, but never had the chance to meet.

My mother missed out on some wonderful times watching her grandchildren grow up. Although, somehow, I believe she is watching them in her own way. My children, however, are the ones who really missed out. Only my oldest had a few years of getting to know her. They never knew her sense of humor, benefited from her godly wisdom, or experienced her days before cancer, which were joyful and contagious to all who were near her.

One thing they are able to get a glimpse of, however, is her relationship with God. This has been made possible through spiritual diaries and journals that my mom kept over the years and that were given to me by my dad after she had gone to be with the Lord. I’ve read numerous entries to my kids, and they are always amazed at the close, comfortable walk she had with Jesus–they were the best of friends.

Through the journals we learn of her faith victories, her struggles, and her constant desire to be more like Jesus in every possible way. No matter what we are going through in our individual lives, reading about her daily times in God’s presence always strengthens us, encourages us, and often convicts us to live our lives better.

I share this story with you today–2 days before Mother’s Day–to encourage you to do what you can to leave a spiritual legacy for your children or grandchildren. The day will eventually come when you will no longer be able to pray for them or encourage them in the Lord. But if you start now, you can leave them with your words of wisdom and faith long after your gone.

My mother never intended for anyone to read her journals or diaries that were meant to be just between her and God. Sorry for snooping, Mom, but I truly hope you somehow know the blessing they have been to my entire family.

Happy Mother’s Day, Mom (and Grandma)! I also hope you know how much you are still loved and cherished. See you one day soon. Love, Renee.

One thought on “Happy Mother’s Day Mom (and Grandma)

Leave a comment